CarAudioForum.com

Go Back   CarAudioForum.com > Discussion Forums > Car Audio: Installation Help

Reply
Old 09-29-2007, 10:00 AM   #1
KurtCocain

Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 25
KurtCocain can only hope to improve



Good Brand Line Output Converter

I need to buy a Line Output converter for hooking up an amp to a stock stereo. i know i need a line output converter, but I am wondering what is a good brand, or what features I need to look for.

I know there are 4 chnanel converters and some that have turn on. i am hooking up a 2 channel amp which will be bridged to mono. So I need a 2 channel line output converter.

As fas as brands which one is best for sound quality, on ebay there are LOCs that cost 12 bucks, and other for lik 30.
KurtCocain is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
Help Syrian Refugees Survive. Donate Now!
Or text REFUGEES to 50555 to give $10 to USA for UNHCR
Old 09-29-2007, 10:16 AM   #2
Duct Tape

Associate
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Banned
Posts: 13,620
Duct Tape has a reputation beyond reputeDuct Tape has a reputation beyond reputeDuct Tape has a reputation beyond reputeDuct Tape has a reputation beyond reputeDuct Tape has a reputation beyond reputeDuct Tape has a reputation beyond reputeDuct Tape has a reputation beyond reputeDuct Tape has a reputation beyond reputeDuct Tape has a reputation beyond reputeDuct Tape has a reputation beyond reputeDuct Tape has a reputation beyond repute



the stinger line out converters on this page are all good quality converters.

http://www.installer.com/stinger/
Duct Tape is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-29-2007, 01:51 PM   #3
KurtCocain

Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 25
KurtCocain can only hope to improve



Quote:
Originally Posted by Duct Tape
the stinger line out converters on this page are all good quality converters.

http://www.installer.com/stinger/

OK, so how do I know which one would I need the Stinger:
SLOC
SLOCII
SALOC
SHPLOC
KurtCocain is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-29-2007, 05:28 PM   #4
Duct Tape

Associate
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Banned
Posts: 13,620
Duct Tape has a reputation beyond reputeDuct Tape has a reputation beyond reputeDuct Tape has a reputation beyond reputeDuct Tape has a reputation beyond reputeDuct Tape has a reputation beyond reputeDuct Tape has a reputation beyond reputeDuct Tape has a reputation beyond reputeDuct Tape has a reputation beyond reputeDuct Tape has a reputation beyond reputeDuct Tape has a reputation beyond reputeDuct Tape has a reputation beyond repute



what kind of vehicle do you have? do you know if it has a factory amplifier?
Duct Tape is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-29-2007, 06:40 PM   #5
KurtCocain

Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 25
KurtCocain can only hope to improve



Quote:
Originally Posted by Duct Tape
what kind of vehicle do you have? do you know if it has a factory amplifier?
i have a 2007 honda civic lx sedan. It has to have factory amplifier, otherwise how would it power the speakers. Or the stock HU has a built in amplifier something like that.
KurtCocain is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-29-2007, 06:43 PM   #6
Duct Tape

Associate
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Banned
Posts: 13,620
Duct Tape has a reputation beyond reputeDuct Tape has a reputation beyond reputeDuct Tape has a reputation beyond reputeDuct Tape has a reputation beyond reputeDuct Tape has a reputation beyond reputeDuct Tape has a reputation beyond reputeDuct Tape has a reputation beyond reputeDuct Tape has a reputation beyond reputeDuct Tape has a reputation beyond reputeDuct Tape has a reputation beyond reputeDuct Tape has a reputation beyond repute



Quote:
Originally Posted by KurtCocain
i have a 2007 honda civic lx sedan. It has to have factory amplifier, otherwise how would it power the speakers. Or the stock HU has a built in amplifier something like that.

some factory stereos have a seperate amp to power the speakers. your car on the other hand, most likely is just using the amp built into the radio.

i would go with this model

SALOC Adjustable line output converter (35wx2).
$27.49
Duct Tape is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-29-2007, 06:50 PM   #7
KurtCocain

Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 25
KurtCocain can only hope to improve



Quote:
Originally Posted by Duct Tape
some factory stereos have a seperate amp to power the speakers. your car on the other hand, most likely is just using the amp built into the radio.

i would go with this model

SALOC Adjustable line output converter (35wx2).
$27.49
thanks for the fast response

k, ill buy that one then
KurtCocain is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-29-2007, 06:55 PM   #8
KurtCocain

Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 25
KurtCocain can only hope to improve



Or what about Install Edge. As far as I know Install Edge is a division of Rockford:

http://search.ebay.com/search/search...trypage=search
KurtCocain is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-29-2007, 07:06 PM   #9
Duct Tape

Associate
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Banned
Posts: 13,620
Duct Tape has a reputation beyond reputeDuct Tape has a reputation beyond reputeDuct Tape has a reputation beyond reputeDuct Tape has a reputation beyond reputeDuct Tape has a reputation beyond reputeDuct Tape has a reputation beyond reputeDuct Tape has a reputation beyond reputeDuct Tape has a reputation beyond reputeDuct Tape has a reputation beyond reputeDuct Tape has a reputation beyond reputeDuct Tape has a reputation beyond repute



no idea, never heard of them. they could work out just fine. i usually only recommend products that i have actually installed. and i have had good results with the stingers.
Duct Tape is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-29-2007, 07:10 PM   #10
KurtCocain

Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 25
KurtCocain can only hope to improve



Quote:
Originally Posted by Duct Tape
no idea, never heard of them. they could work out just fine. i usually only recommend products that i have actually installed. and i have had good results with the stingers.
I see. I was just being cheap and trying to save a few bucks )

Well, if you go to best buy to install stuff for you, they use Rockfor amp kits and Install Edge LOCs.

Read up on it and this is what I found:

"Some LOC's, like the InstallEdge IEC AULOC have 16 Ohms across the load resulting in ~ 1.77 Ohms "load" to the amp.
Others like Scosche FAI-3 have capacitors in series with resistors providing minimal additional load to the amp." (http://www.saabcentral.com/forums/sh...ad.php?t=18475)
KurtCocain is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-30-2007, 06:06 PM   #11
RONSOLOX

Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 46
RONSOLOX will become famous soon enoughRONSOLOX will become famous soon enough



Here's another one by scosche

http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_...Converter.html

or

http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_...Converter.html
RONSOLOX is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-16-2007, 10:40 AM   #12
epi79

Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3
epi79 is on a distinguished road



what about MTX-REQ ?
too expensive? for LOC? anybody ever experience with that?
epi79 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-17-2007, 05:14 AM   #13
Vestax05pro

Associates
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USUC World Champion - Stock System Class, Super Street Division Special Edition Bose 26 piece speaker system with enhanced ported tweeters. 89.2 db Legal, 89.6 db Outlaw
Posts: 9,827
Vestax05pro has a reputation beyond reputeVestax05pro has a reputation beyond reputeVestax05pro has a reputation beyond reputeVestax05pro has a reputation beyond reputeVestax05pro has a reputation beyond reputeVestax05pro has a reputation beyond reputeVestax05pro has a reputation beyond reputeVestax05pro has a reputation beyond reputeVestax05pro has a reputation beyond reputeVestax05pro has a reputation beyond reputeVestax05pro has a reputation beyond repute



Quote:
Originally Posted by epi79
what about MTX-REQ ?
too expensive? for LOC? anybody ever experience with that?
The REQ is great for vehicles with stock amps that process the signal for each speaker. A universal LOC works great for full range signals. It really depends on the vehicle.
Vestax05pro is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:04 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright © 2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996 - 2011 by CarAudioForum.com - all rights reserved.