CarAudioForum.com

Go Back   CarAudioForum.com > Discussion Forums > Car Audio: General

Reply
Old 01-16-2018, 02:19 AM   #31
Maxim#

Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: ATX
Posts: 12
Maxim# is on a distinguished road



Update on progress:
Everything is going very slow due to my surgery recovery but I decided to slightly increase my budget.

- component speakers already purchased: Hertz HSK 165 6.5”, really loved them when heard them in the store!,
https://postimg.org/image/jkt2v6e7n/
- amp installation kit already here - KnuKonceptz Kolossus Flex 0 Gauge OFC Dual Power Amp Installation Wiring Kit:
https://postimg.org/image/bfb0x0i8z/
- I took off front door panel and made a paper template for speakers adapter: 6x9 to 6.5. Stock speaker was going 1.5” inch deep to the door and 1.5” out of the door.
https://postimg.org/image/6tewonp03/
- for subs decided on 2 of these: IDQ10 V.4 D2 just waiting with ordering till I choose the amp so I know if 2ohm or 4ohm will be right. The other option based on yalls suggestion was just one sub: SoundQubed HDC3.110 10, still thinking about it but since I never heard them I can really just on opinions…
- I have also changed my mind about enclosure, did a lot of reading/research and seem like people who like similar type of music to mine (trance, trap, dub, house, hip hop) usually prefer ported enclosure so I might go for one as well but I’m not going to build it myself, I was looking on ebay like u guys suggested:
Ebay: 10" inch Dual Subwoofer Sub Box Enclosure Ported Vented 1" Face Labyrinth OBCON, price $62,

Last missing puzzles – amps, I’m sticking to your suggestions and looking for mono and 4 channel ones with the filters you guys mentioned: HPF, LPF, subsonic, bass boost. ckeeler11 mentioned that I need line out converted so I did some reading and I guess instead of that I could get an amp with high level inputs?(didn’t find really any serious cons)
4 channel amp(my power needs: components 2x125W RMS, in the future
coaxials in the back with similar RMS):

SoundStorm (SSL) EVO2000.4amp is at sonicelectronix and has all the features:
price $120
rms: 250W x 4 Chan. @ 4 Ohms, 500W x 2 Chan. @ 2 Ohms,
- 2 pair preamp outputs,
- high level inputs

Mono amps that I found matching my RMS needs:
Rockford Fosgate Prime R1200-1D
price $259
RMS: 400W x 1 @ 4 ohms, 800W x 1 @ 2 ohms, 1200W x 1 @ 1 ohm

Hifonics BRX1516.1D
price
RMS:4 ohms: 550w, 2 ohms: 900w, 1 ohm: 1500w,
(this amp has a lot of comments about not lasting very long)

Power Acoustik CB1-4500D
price: $114
rms: 900w @ 4 ohms, 1500w @ 2 ohms
(only issue in here that max wire is 8guage and I got 4 with my amp kit)

Thanks for all your input!

Last edited by Maxim#; 01-16-2018 at 02:21 AM. Reason: missing pictures
Maxim# is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-16-2018, 07:37 AM   #32
Constantine90

Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Farmerville, LA
Posts: 177
Constantine90 is just really niceConstantine90 is just really niceConstantine90 is just really niceConstantine90 is just really niceConstantine90 is just really nice



Excellent subwoofer choice.

Enclosure, that particular one is a poor choice, one (among many) reason is the real tuning of OBCON Labyrinth ported boxes is usually in the mid 40 hz range.
If you must order one off of Ebay, I'd go with a Ground Shaker, the volume is close to the suggested but I wouldn't settle for less than 1.4 cu ft per sub.
I personally would have an enclosure built for the subwoofers at the local sound shop.
Those are some good quality, premium subwoofers, it'd be a shame to put them in a prefab man.

I wouldn't buy the Soundstorm 4 channel, it's of poor, junk quality.
A decent low budget substitute would be:
ICE1600.4 - Precision Power 4-Channel 1600W Max Full Range Amplifier.
It produces 130w at 4 ohms, stereo (unbridged)



Out of the Mono Block amp choices, the Rockford is the better choice although the prime line is considered their low budget amp.
The NVX JAD1200.1 is a little cheaper and is a good amp.

In regards to a LOC, you actually need 3 pairs of RCA patch cables.
Just keeping that in mind, you may want to consider something along the lines of an audio control epicenter.
Although it is possible to go with multiple Locs, one two channel loc for the front signal (for your components) and another for the sub amp and rear channel.

Last edited by Constantine90; 01-16-2018 at 07:41 AM.
Constantine90 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-16-2018, 11:24 AM   #33
Jimi77

Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 27,768
Jimi77 has a reputation beyond reputeJimi77 has a reputation beyond reputeJimi77 has a reputation beyond reputeJimi77 has a reputation beyond reputeJimi77 has a reputation beyond reputeJimi77 has a reputation beyond reputeJimi77 has a reputation beyond reputeJimi77 has a reputation beyond reputeJimi77 has a reputation beyond reputeJimi77 has a reputation beyond reputeJimi77 has a reputation beyond repute



I don't like any of your amp choices. Soundstorm is garbage and Hifonics isn't much better. If you don't go sealed with the subs, then a custom enclosure is probably a better option.

http://www.woofersetc.com/c-3-amplif...amplifier.html

http://www.woofersetc.com/c-3-amplif...amplifier.html
Jimi77 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-16-2018, 05:50 PM   #34
Maxim#

Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: ATX
Posts: 12
Maxim# is on a distinguished road



Quote:
Originally Posted by Constantine90 View Post
In regards to a LOC, you actually need 3 pairs of RCA patch cables.
Where exactly will I have to use them? sub to sub, component to sub and sub to HU? any recommended brand?

My final big order:
- Precision Power ICE2600.1D Black Ice Series 2600W Class D Mono
- Above amp will run on 1ohm so will order 2 x IDQ10 V.4 D4 -Dual 4-Ohm then,
- Precision Power ICE1600.4 Black Ice Series 1600W Class A/B 4Ch
- 3 x LOC: https://www.amazon.com/PAC-SNI-35-Va...tput+converter

Before ordering the epicenter I want to listen my setup first so at least I’m aware how it sounds without it:
- AudioControl THE EPICENTER BLACK
Maxim# is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-16-2018, 08:10 PM   #35
Bigteeboy

Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 28
Bigteeboy is on a distinguished road



Great choice on subs I have 12in version of the Ids you will be very happy with the subs thank god you didn't order the amps for your subs pure garbage
Bigteeboy is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-16-2018, 09:39 PM   #36
crapola

Chief Pessimist!
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Arlington, Texas
Posts: 372
crapola is on a distinguished road



Mids/highs, the Audio Control D-4.800. It is a 4-channel amp, has a built in 6-channel DSP, 30-band EQ, and accepts high-level inputs.

For subs, to go along with the above, the Audio Control LC-1.800.
crapola is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-23-2018, 03:23 AM   #37
Maxim#

Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: ATX
Posts: 12
Maxim# is on a distinguished road



Update on progress part 2:

Update on progress part 2:

Amp power cable:

It wasn’t easy but I managed to get this thick power cable through the firewall on the drivers side. There was a rubber grommet but the wires that were already there were filling up all the space!
I did some reading before and found that people are using metal hanger and washing liquid to get it through first so I did that too. I used washing liquid on the wire as well and started pushing it through and did it!
https://ibb.co/dKEYZG
https://ibb.co/coCbob
https://ibb.co/fCup8b

Next I cut ~8inches of the wire and crimped the ends of it with bench vise. After that I was trying to solder the ends of the wire and quickly learned that it wont be possible with my soldering iron, so I just purchased ¾ heat shrinks.
https://ibb.co/gFA7uG

Next I wanted to connect the wires with the fuse box but then I found that I probably should do that before crimping cable because the plastic fuse tube was already to narrow for the metal “ending”(not sure what is the technical term) to go through.
https://ibb.co/iADtZG
Also the metal part that holds the fuse and a wire is not properly align to attach the power cable, I think I have to grind this metal hook to make it work...unless I'm not doing it right...
https://ibb.co/bKxy1w

4 channel amp – ICE 1600.4
https://ibb.co/h04YZG
So I finally received the amp unpacked it and started wondering how do I connect all of that lol…
So there are 4 speaker level outputs on one side and on the other side 4rca inputs, that confused me a bit.
https://ibb.co/kXG2Tb
https://ibb.co/b4bfEG
I thought there would be one input for some signal cable from head unit and then I would only have to connect components directly to the amp… So I’m guessing I have to have front and rear speakers cable from HU to amp and then separate cables from speakers to amp? Also the power connection is not big enough for my cable what is the recommended solution?

Since I don't have a pre-amp output, how do I get the sound to my mono amp(ICE2600.1D Black) that I should receive soon?

Also purchased at Fry’s Electronics Toyota harness, not sure if I need or if this is the correct one… I can always return.
https://ibb.co/nfA7uG

Waiting also for the package with Fast Rings to install together with my components a lot of people seems to like them:
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
I didn't make my speakers adapters yet although I have a template and 3/4 mdf planning to fix it soon with my jigsaw.

Still didn't purchase sub box, I was trying to do some readings about best tuning values but it seems like it is very subjective. I'm going to stick to what u were already recommending that also matches the sub specs: air space per per sub ~1.4 cubic feet and tuning freq ~40Hz...for now I will pick smth from ebay later on will get smth custom...

Thanks!
Maxim# is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-23-2018, 11:11 AM   #38
Jimi77

Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 27,768
Jimi77 has a reputation beyond reputeJimi77 has a reputation beyond reputeJimi77 has a reputation beyond reputeJimi77 has a reputation beyond reputeJimi77 has a reputation beyond reputeJimi77 has a reputation beyond reputeJimi77 has a reputation beyond reputeJimi77 has a reputation beyond reputeJimi77 has a reputation beyond reputeJimi77 has a reputation beyond reputeJimi77 has a reputation beyond repute



Sounds like you need a LOC (line out converter) to hook the HU up to the amp's RCAs. The power wire is probably CCA (copper clad aluminum), which is thicker than pure copper; you can trim it down a tad to make it fit the power input on the amp.
Jimi77 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-23-2018, 07:29 PM   #39
Constantine90

Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Farmerville, LA
Posts: 177
Constantine90 is just really niceConstantine90 is just really niceConstantine90 is just really niceConstantine90 is just really niceConstantine90 is just really nice



Quote:
Originally Posted by Maxim# View Post
If you did order these then they will be used to adapt your headunit speaker outputs to rca outputs that will plug into your amps.
Constantine90 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-23-2018, 09:40 PM   #40
Maxim#

Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: ATX
Posts: 12
Maxim# is on a distinguished road



Quote:
Originally Posted by Constantine90 View Post
If you did order these then they will be used to adapt your headunit speaker outputs to rca outputs that will plug into your amps.
yes I have them already, so If I use them for the front and rear speakers, what about sub which wire should I use for it?
Maxim# is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-23-2018, 10:11 PM   #41
Constantine90

Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Farmerville, LA
Posts: 177
Constantine90 is just really niceConstantine90 is just really niceConstantine90 is just really niceConstantine90 is just really niceConstantine90 is just really nice



I'd just use the rear speaker outputs for sub and rear amp inputs.
Constantine90 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-26-2018, 01:08 AM   #42
Maxim#

Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: ATX
Posts: 12
Maxim# is on a distinguished road



So if I'll have my rear speakers and sub coming from the same wire, does it mean that I will have significantly less power? If so how to prevent that? Also I found that I don't have remote start wire for amp - should It be together with amp? What kind of wire is that?

Thx
Maxim# is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-26-2018, 04:06 AM   #43
Jimi77

Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 27,768
Jimi77 has a reputation beyond reputeJimi77 has a reputation beyond reputeJimi77 has a reputation beyond reputeJimi77 has a reputation beyond reputeJimi77 has a reputation beyond reputeJimi77 has a reputation beyond reputeJimi77 has a reputation beyond reputeJimi77 has a reputation beyond reputeJimi77 has a reputation beyond reputeJimi77 has a reputation beyond reputeJimi77 has a reputation beyond repute



Quote:
Originally Posted by Maxim# View Post
So if I'll have my rear speakers and sub coming from the same wire, does it mean that I will have significantly less power? If so how to prevent that? Also I found that I don't have remote start wire for amp - should It be together with amp? What kind of wire is that?

Thx
No, you'll have the same preamp power to the rears and sub.

Remote wire is just a ~16awg wire, use blue.
Jimi77 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-26-2018, 11:22 AM   #44
JohnBauder

Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 542
JohnBauder is a name known to allJohnBauder is a name known to allJohnBauder is a name known to allJohnBauder is a name known to allJohnBauder is a name known to allJohnBauder is a name known to all



Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimi77 View Post
No, you'll have the same preamp power to the rears and sub.

Remote wire is just a ~16awg wire, use blue.


Won't this mean that he cannot balance the volume of the sub against the rears?
JohnBauder is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-26-2018, 04:39 PM   #45
Jimi77

Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 27,768
Jimi77 has a reputation beyond reputeJimi77 has a reputation beyond reputeJimi77 has a reputation beyond reputeJimi77 has a reputation beyond reputeJimi77 has a reputation beyond reputeJimi77 has a reputation beyond reputeJimi77 has a reputation beyond reputeJimi77 has a reputation beyond reputeJimi77 has a reputation beyond reputeJimi77 has a reputation beyond reputeJimi77 has a reputation beyond repute



Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnBauder View Post
Won't this mean that he cannot balance the volume of the sub against the rears?
Yes, but he only has 4 channels out of the OEM HU, so he's going to have this problem either on the fronts to rears or rears to sub.
Jimi77 is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:09 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright © 2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996 - 2011 by CarAudioForum.com - all rights reserved.