CarAudioForum.com

Go Back   CarAudioForum.com > Discussion Forums > Car Audio: Advanced

Reply
Old 07-15-2017, 06:35 PM   #1
loony

Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 8
loony is on a distinguished road



Infinity Kappa 693.5i and Kenwood KDC-BT510U

got my system all set up today

Kenwood KDC-BT510U 3 way crossover.
http://www.kenwood-electronics.co.uk...th/KDC-BT510U/
manual:
http://manual.kenwood.com/files/B5A-1337-00.pdf

Alpine SPG-17C2 2-Way Co-axial Speakers in front.
https://www.alpine.co.uk/p/Products/SingleView/SPG-17C2

Infinity Kappa 693.5i Old i know with crossovers fitted.
https://www.crutchfield.com/S-tWFguu...pa-693-5i.html

problem is i am hardly getting any decent sound out of the infinitys. I get tonnes of bass from the front alpines,

is this because the head unit has crossovers and the speakers have crossovers making them over filtered? i dont really understand too much about car audio.

can i bypass my infinity crossovers and just double up the positive and negative terminals so they act like regular speakers?

The only reason i have the infinity in the back is for extra bass but there is hardly any compared to the front speakers when i check fade from front to rear.

I am using B1 and B2 for the right rear and B7 and B8 for the left rear.

couple of pics:
http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y25...psmovm9osz.jpg
http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y25...pscin8xcqc.jpg
http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y25...pswi72w8xw.jpg
http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y25...psv0q5gxqg.jpg

more from the manual about settings which i will read agin
http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y25...psgpbzeolk.jpg
http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y25...psaqlc41lj.jpg
http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y25...pshengkmu7.jpg
http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y25...psxzxr0x4t.jpg

Last edited by loony; 07-15-2017 at 06:51 PM.
loony is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
Help Syrian Refugees Survive. Donate Now!
Or text REFUGEES to 50555 to give $10 to USA for UNHCR
Old 07-16-2017, 03:09 AM   #2
basicxj

Registered Spam Offender
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: north of the 49th
Posts: 19,796
basicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond repute



The crossovers on the Infinity speakers are designed to divide the frequencies through the head unit between the mid and tweeter (and "super" tweeter). You do not want to bypass it and double up the speaker wires- you want to feed a signal from the head unit to it, and apply a "high pass" filter aka crossover to it from the head unit to eliminate frequencies lower than the 6x9 mid can play without cone break up and distortion...that may be around 40hz, or may be higher, wherever you get the most low frequency energy from them without getting distorted low end response. The signature sound of Infinity speakers is pretty piercing and sharp high frequency response coupled with weak midbass response- they are not known for great bass response.

With your head unit and Alpine speakers up front, Infinity speakers in the back you won't want to use the head unit's crossovers in "3 way" mode. You will want to apply high pass filter set around 80hz on the fronts, a high pass filter set between 40-80hz on the rears (whatever the lowest they go without cone break up is), and use a subwoofer for real bass. If you do, you'll want a low pass filter on the sub channels set around 80hz.
basicxj is online now   Reply With Quote

Old 07-16-2017, 07:42 AM   #3
loony

Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 8
loony is on a distinguished road



Thanks for the info, i have tried a few things but not getting very far.

i have a question about the subwoofer.

the headunit has 2 RCA outputs left and right red and white.

how do i connect that to a monaural subwoofer which only has 2 wires positve and negative to RCA on the back of the headunit?
loony is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-16-2017, 12:44 PM   #4
basicxj

Registered Spam Offender
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: north of the 49th
Posts: 19,796
basicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond repute



Quote:
Originally Posted by loony View Post
Thanks for the info, i have tried a few things but not getting very far.

i have a question about the subwoofer.

the headunit has 2 RCA outputs left and right red and white.

how do i connect that to a monaural subwoofer which only has 2 wires positve and negative to RCA on the back of the headunit?
You don't- you connect the head unit's RCA outputs to the RCA inputs of a subwoofer amplifier, and the amplifier's speaker outputs to the subwoofer's speaker leads. The head unit is not capable of driving a subwoofer by itself (and even your other speakers would be better served being powered by a dedicated 4 channel amplifier).

If your head unit only has one pair of RCA outputs, you would choose a 4 channel amp that can split signal from one pair of RCAs to feed signal to all four channels and has RCA outputs of its own that can be fed to a subwoofer, allowing that signal to pass through the amp to another amp. Ideally, you would choose a head unit with two or three pairs of RCA outs rather than one.
basicxj is online now   Reply With Quote

Old 07-16-2017, 01:00 PM   #5
basicxj

Registered Spam Offender
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: north of the 49th
Posts: 19,796
basicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond repute



The internal "chip" or I/C amplifier in your head unit is rated to produce 50 watts x 4 "max" which is fully clipped + distorted at that level. It will do somewhere between 18 and 22 watts "RMS" or continuous power, i.e. not much for cleanly driving an aftermarket speaker before clipping sets in.

The lower the frequency, the more clean power it takes to reproduce those lower frequencies at a volume comparable to the higher frequencies, and that is where proper amplifiers come in. If you are serious about getting good sound and good bass output, separate amplifiers and a dedicated subwoofer should be in your future.
basicxj is online now   Reply With Quote

Old 07-16-2017, 02:06 PM   #6
basicxj

Registered Spam Offender
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: north of the 49th
Posts: 19,796
basicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond repute



http://manual.kenwood.com/files/B5A-1337-00.pdf

For now, set your crossovers to "2 way" (page 19 of your manual), select "front" and "rear" for "speaker size"and then choose "HPF" for both. Set the frequency for the fronts around 80hz, and set the frequency for the rears around 40-60hz (wherever you get the best, undistorted bass response).

Last edited by basicxj; 07-16-2017 at 04:18 PM. Reason: forgot ")"
basicxj is online now   Reply With Quote

Old 07-16-2017, 06:34 PM   #7
loony

Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 8
loony is on a distinguished road



Thanks for all your help so far basic, I do have an amplifier and JBL Sub that i have been looking into fitting today. it should solve the problem if it still works, had it for 15 years or more.

I would appreciate your guidance when it comes to setting up the Sub and rear speakers on the amplifier. Its a JBL GTO 75.4 4 channel as in pics.

http://imgur.com/2LQM5UL
http://imgur.com/xaN5e7G
http://imgur.com/x88POat

Last edited by loony; 07-16-2017 at 06:45 PM.
loony is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-17-2017, 01:07 AM   #8
basicxj

Registered Spam Offender
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: north of the 49th
Posts: 19,796
basicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond repute



You could power front speakers (the most important part of an audio system) with the front two channels of the amp, and depending on what voice coil version/configuration the sub you have is, bridge channels 3/4 to power the sub. Leave the Infinity speakers powered off the head unit if you must have them.

You'll need a single 4 ohm voice coil sub for a stable load on bridged amplifier channels- loads less than 4 ohms won't treat the amp very kindly if bridged.
basicxj is online now   Reply With Quote

Old 07-17-2017, 08:37 AM   #9
loony

Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 8
loony is on a distinguished road



The sub i have is a JBL GT4-12.

http://www.testfreaks.co.uk/car-subwoofers/jbl-gt4-12/

http://www.cieri.net/Documenti/JBL/C...ox%20etc.).pdf

according to the Sub specs it is NOMINAL IMPEDANCE: 4 Ohm ?

http://imgur.com/ldt5n86

so if i have this correct: there are 6 outputs on my head unit. front left, front right, rear right, rear left, RCA left RCA right

headunit front will have to go through the High level pass 4 pin plug to amp then Alpine Front speakers out through the front output (L_R) of the Amp.
infinity Rear speakers / crossovers will go to the rear output from the head unit
JBL subwoofer signal comes from the RCA plugs directly to the rear input of the amp then out to bridged Rear terminals sub

and what i found on the net for high level pass configuration:

Quote:
with the clip at the top it is the following

top left= grey=FR+
bottom left= grey/black=FR-
top right= white=FL+
bottom right= white/black =FL-

Last edited by loony; 07-17-2017 at 09:40 AM.
loony is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-17-2017, 11:19 AM   #10
basicxj

Registered Spam Offender
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: north of the 49th
Posts: 19,796
basicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond repute



Quote:
Originally Posted by loony View Post
The sub i have is a JBL GT4-12.

http://www.testfreaks.co.uk/car-subwoofers/jbl-gt4-12/

http://www.cieri.net/Documenti/JBL/C...ox%20etc.).pdf

according to the Sub specs it is NOMINAL IMPEDANCE: 4 Ohm ?

http://imgur.com/ldt5n86

so if i have this correct: there are 6 outputs on my head unit. front left, front right, rear right, rear left, RCA left RCA right

headunit front will have to go through the High level pass 4 pin plug to amp then Alpine Front speakers out through the front output (L_R) of the Amp.
infinity Rear speakers / crossovers will go to the rear output from the head unit
JBL subwoofer signal comes from the RCA plugs directly to the rear input of the amp then out to bridged Rear terminals sub

and what i found on the net for high level pass configuration:
I would leave the Infinity speakers powered off the radio's speaker leads for rear channels. Yes, you can use the high level input to grab signal for channels 1/2, then wire the front speakers to the amplifier's speaker outputs for channels 1 and 2. Use the RCA output on the head unit to feed signal to channel 3/4 on the amp, and set the input switch on the amp to mono- connect the sub's speaker leads to channels 3/4 following the manufacturer's configuration for bridged mode.
basicxj is online now   Reply With Quote

Old 09-16-2017, 04:56 PM   #11
loony

Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 8
loony is on a distinguished road



thanks for all your help basic,

i have a spanner in the works now.

I returned the KDC510BU back to amazon because i had problems with the bluetooth. instead i now have a KDC X5000 BT

this seems a much better HU. It has 3 Phono outputs front, rear and Sub.

i have the front alpines going into the front input on amp, should i use the HU Sub output phonos for the sub amp signal?

at the moment i am using the rears to signal the sub.

currently not using the infinitys but am considering buying a small dedicated sub amp, but this will be longer term and means loads of work on a shelf etc.

there are loads of settings which have me boggled at the moment.

would appreciate if you could take a look at the options and maybe make some suggestions on fine tuning.

http://www.kenwood-electronics.co.uk.../?view=support

also playing around with sub boxes, i have the sub in a sealed alloy box that just so happens to fit. what would you suggest would be the best option for housing a sub? MDF? I tend to listen to dance, drum and bass and electronica mostly and i like the low rumble rather than punchy beats.

many Thanks
loony is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-16-2017, 06:27 PM   #12
loony

Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 8
loony is on a distinguished road



Also getting quite a bit of hissing at low volume. I have the power, speaker wires and amp wires all in close proximity unfortunately due to a **** up on my part on the length of the phono cables. they all meet at a hole that travels to the back of the van where the amp is mounted.

is it wise to have seperated all the cables so there is no cross talk or doesnt this really matter?

bit more info:

https://i.imgur.com/mryyzQN.jpg

https://i.imgur.com/MFGaCBp.jpg

https://i.imgur.com/ScF2A3W.jpg

https://i.imgur.com/LU1948z.jpg

https://i.imgur.com/4liPrSX.jpg

https://i.imgur.com/YJ2ohEk.jpg

Last edited by loony; 09-16-2017 at 07:18 PM.
loony is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-17-2017, 10:14 AM   #13
loony

Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 8
loony is on a distinguished road



Ok changed the sub signal to the sub signal on the HU it sounds a lot better .
Just not sure how To setup the amp and all the crossover settings on the HU.

Slope gain and frequencys for instance. And on the amp frequency and input power
loony is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-05-2017, 06:48 AM   #14
loony

Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 8
loony is on a distinguished road



got some cheap gear off ebay. a JBL 752 amp and a 10 inch JBL sub with box.

obviously i can run the sub off the new 2 channel amp, can I double off the power connection from the existing amp to the new one rather than running a new power line to the battery?

also the 754 amp has an output so i assume i can just pick up the signal from that to run the new sub dedicated amp?

now i have 2 (10 inch and 12 inch) subs, is there anything worth messing about with in order to run 2? is it worth it?

Last edited by loony; 11-05-2017 at 06:50 AM.
loony is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-05-2017, 02:44 PM   #15
basicxj

Registered Spam Offender
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: north of the 49th
Posts: 19,796
basicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond reputebasicxj has a reputation beyond repute



Quote:
Originally Posted by loony View Post
got some cheap gear off ebay. a JBL 752 amp and a 10 inch JBL sub with box.

obviously i can run the sub off the new 2 channel amp, can I double off the power connection from the existing amp to the new one rather than running a new power line to the battery?

also the 754 amp has an output so i assume i can just pick up the signal from that to run the new sub dedicated amp?

now i have 2 (10 inch and 12 inch) subs, is there anything worth messing about with in order to run 2? is it worth it?
Try each sub by itself, pick the one you like best. There is nothing to be gained mixing and matching subs in the install, and much to be "fixed" in trying to do so.
basicxj is online now   Reply With Quote

Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:58 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright © 2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996 - 2011 by CarAudioForum.com - all rights reserved.