CarAudioForum.com


Reply
Old 04-25-2006, 12:47 PM   #31
PHilPOT

Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: ATL
Posts: 1,356
PHilPOT has a reputation beyond reputePHilPOT has a reputation beyond reputePHilPOT has a reputation beyond reputePHilPOT has a reputation beyond reputePHilPOT has a reputation beyond reputePHilPOT has a reputation beyond reputePHilPOT has a reputation beyond reputePHilPOT has a reputation beyond reputePHilPOT has a reputation beyond reputePHilPOT has a reputation beyond reputePHilPOT has a reputation beyond repute



Damn, I thought I was the only one who knew about Del City...

Everyone is to disregard the link refering to Delcity.net that was posted above

Hey Cnumb, what about partsexpress.com? They sell some power and speaker wire as well.

Last edited by PHilPOT; 04-25-2006 at 03:06 PM.
PHilPOT is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-25-2006, 03:38 PM   #32
geolemon

Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Buffalo, NY, USA
Posts: 14,733
geolemon has a reputation beyond reputegeolemon has a reputation beyond reputegeolemon has a reputation beyond reputegeolemon has a reputation beyond reputegeolemon has a reputation beyond reputegeolemon has a reputation beyond reputegeolemon has a reputation beyond reputegeolemon has a reputation beyond reputegeolemon has a reputation beyond reputegeolemon has a reputation beyond reputegeolemon has a reputation beyond repute



Quote:
Originally Posted by ComfortablyNumb
Some Battery links have been added.
Very nice.

I think I need to get myself a nice highspeed connection one of these days.
geolemon is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-29-2006, 09:07 PM   #33
irishmans88

Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Near Nashville, TN (yes, there is more than one Nashville, so I specify)
Posts: 92
irishmans88 will become famous soon enough



I second that opinion to you, Geo. I just got one (going from dial-up) and oh my God what a diff. So, you guys will notice me posting more often.
irishmans88 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-30-2006, 09:29 AM   #34
joemamafoo

Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 506
joemamafoo has a brilliant futurejoemamafoo has a brilliant futurejoemamafoo has a brilliant futurejoemamafoo has a brilliant futurejoemamafoo has a brilliant futurejoemamafoo has a brilliant futurejoemamafoo has a brilliant futurejoemamafoo has a brilliant futurejoemamafoo has a brilliant futurejoemamafoo has a brilliant futurejoemamafoo has a brilliant future



Quote:
Originally Posted by fmshaw1971
Esoteric Audio used to make top quality wire and interconnects. I had it in my last system, but that was a LONG time ago. It's amazing how many companies have gone out of business since the car audio heyday.
I didn't read through the whole thread but I thought I'd point out that Esoteric Audio is very much still in business and today is more commonly known as Streetwires. Also I'm not sure if anyone has mentioned them but Kicker's power wires are pretty dope, the most flexible I've ever seen. Good idea for a sticky btw.
joemamafoo is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-05-2006, 03:18 AM   #35
dolbsss

asleep for 6 yrs. woke up
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Columbus,Oh occasionally in a galaxy far,far away
Posts: 4,958
dolbsss has a reputation beyond reputedolbsss has a reputation beyond reputedolbsss has a reputation beyond reputedolbsss has a reputation beyond reputedolbsss has a reputation beyond reputedolbsss has a reputation beyond reputedolbsss has a reputation beyond reputedolbsss has a reputation beyond reputedolbsss has a reputation beyond reputedolbsss has a reputation beyond reputedolbsss has a reputation beyond repute



Quote:
Originally Posted by geolemon
Very nice.

I think I need to get myself a nice highspeed connection one of these days.



17.99 a month for at&t dsl.... 3mbs...... it's what i got and it comes right through the phone line....... its as fast as roadrunner when i had it...... at least is percieved that way by me....... as for this thread.... well done..... i just wanrted to upgrade a ton of electrical stuff for about a 1000 w upgrade.... needless to say research just got a lot easier..... as for threads being sticked and where to post them... i have an idea but wouldn't know if it could be done....... what if you had to start a thread in one of the subforums(maybe add a subwoofer,amps,etc)but it posted it there and in general..... so it would be specified but also all eyes would see it.... also nothing could only be posted in general........that way there wouldn't be a huge need to keep bumping stuff because it would stay on pg.1 of the subforums longer......just an idea.....
dolbsss is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-07-2006, 01:33 PM   #36
ComfortablyNumb

Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Detroit area
Posts: 9,417
ComfortablyNumb has a reputation beyond reputeComfortablyNumb has a reputation beyond reputeComfortablyNumb has a reputation beyond reputeComfortablyNumb has a reputation beyond reputeComfortablyNumb has a reputation beyond reputeComfortablyNumb has a reputation beyond reputeComfortablyNumb has a reputation beyond reputeComfortablyNumb has a reputation beyond reputeComfortablyNumb has a reputation beyond reputeComfortablyNumb has a reputation beyond reputeComfortablyNumb has a reputation beyond repute



Threw in a couple of gain setting tutorials.
ComfortablyNumb is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-07-2006, 09:30 PM   #37
ComfortablyNumb

Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Detroit area
Posts: 9,417
ComfortablyNumb has a reputation beyond reputeComfortablyNumb has a reputation beyond reputeComfortablyNumb has a reputation beyond reputeComfortablyNumb has a reputation beyond reputeComfortablyNumb has a reputation beyond reputeComfortablyNumb has a reputation beyond reputeComfortablyNumb has a reputation beyond reputeComfortablyNumb has a reputation beyond reputeComfortablyNumb has a reputation beyond reputeComfortablyNumb has a reputation beyond reputeComfortablyNumb has a reputation beyond repute



Less expensive AGM Deep Cycle Batteries. Guess where?
ComfortablyNumb is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-07-2006, 11:27 PM   #38
Dodgeman7

Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: The coolest place on earth
Posts: 363
Dodgeman7 has a reputation beyond reputeDodgeman7 has a reputation beyond reputeDodgeman7 has a reputation beyond reputeDodgeman7 has a reputation beyond reputeDodgeman7 has a reputation beyond reputeDodgeman7 has a reputation beyond reputeDodgeman7 has a reputation beyond reputeDodgeman7 has a reputation beyond reputeDodgeman7 has a reputation beyond reputeDodgeman7 has a reputation beyond reputeDodgeman7 has a reputation beyond repute



Is Stinger a reputable battery company? Cause I'm gonna need a new battery to power my Orion HCCA-D5000 amp and the LEDs I'm gonna have on my car, which is a 2005 Dodge Stratus R/T by the way. What Stinger bat to you guys recommend for the price and use for my application?
Dodgeman7 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-07-2006, 11:49 PM   #39
ComfortablyNumb

Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Detroit area
Posts: 9,417
ComfortablyNumb has a reputation beyond reputeComfortablyNumb has a reputation beyond reputeComfortablyNumb has a reputation beyond reputeComfortablyNumb has a reputation beyond reputeComfortablyNumb has a reputation beyond reputeComfortablyNumb has a reputation beyond reputeComfortablyNumb has a reputation beyond reputeComfortablyNumb has a reputation beyond reputeComfortablyNumb has a reputation beyond reputeComfortablyNumb has a reputation beyond reputeComfortablyNumb has a reputation beyond repute



Quote:
Originally Posted by Dodgeman7
Is Stinger a reputable battery company? Cause I'm gonna need a new battery to power my Orion HCCA-D5000 amp and the LEDs I'm gonna have on my car, which is a 2005 Dodge Stratus R/T by the way. What Stinger bat to you guys recommend for the price and use for my application?
Stinger is good. But expensive. If I were you I would add a second battery in the trunk. Put it in a battery box that is vented outside of the trunk. Ground the extra battery in the trunk, and run a wire from the car's main battery back to the 2nd battery.

the Stinger 1700 would work. Personally, I would use something like an Interstate 31-MHD. A group size 31 Commercial battery that has 195 minutes of Reserve Capacity. There is also the Deka Intimidator. It's an AGM battery just like a Stinger. But I understand it can be purchased off of ebay for $100!!! Less than half the price of a stinger.

Last edited by ComfortablyNumb; 05-08-2006 at 12:06 AM.
ComfortablyNumb is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-07-2006, 11:54 PM   #40
drozzy

Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Barrie, ON
Posts: 1,892
drozzy has a reputation beyond reputedrozzy has a reputation beyond reputedrozzy has a reputation beyond reputedrozzy has a reputation beyond reputedrozzy has a reputation beyond reputedrozzy has a reputation beyond reputedrozzy has a reputation beyond reputedrozzy has a reputation beyond reputedrozzy has a reputation beyond reputedrozzy has a reputation beyond reputedrozzy has a reputation beyond repute



Quote:
Originally Posted by ComfortablyNumb
Stinger is good. But expensive. If I were you I would add a second battery in the trunk. Put it in a battery box that is vented outside of the trunk. Ground the extra battery in the trunk, and run a wire from the car's main battery back to the 2nd battery.

the Stinger 1700 would work. Personally, I would use something like an Interstate 31-MHD. A group size 31 Commercial battery that has 195 minutes of Reserve Capacity. There is also the Deka Intimidator. It's an AGM battery just like a Stinger. But I understand it can be purchased off of ebay for $100!!! Less than half the price of a stinger.
I bet it's a stupid question, but... how do you vent a battery box outside the trunk?? I guess you use something like this and then... what? You drill a hole in your trunk lid?!?!
drozzy is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-08-2006, 12:03 AM   #41
ComfortablyNumb

Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Detroit area
Posts: 9,417
ComfortablyNumb has a reputation beyond reputeComfortablyNumb has a reputation beyond reputeComfortablyNumb has a reputation beyond reputeComfortablyNumb has a reputation beyond reputeComfortablyNumb has a reputation beyond reputeComfortablyNumb has a reputation beyond reputeComfortablyNumb has a reputation beyond reputeComfortablyNumb has a reputation beyond reputeComfortablyNumb has a reputation beyond reputeComfortablyNumb has a reputation beyond reputeComfortablyNumb has a reputation beyond repute



Not through the trunk lid. Just someplace not noticeable.

Here's one that comes as a kit. Including vent tube. But the largest battery it will hold is a group 24.
http://www.jegs.com/webapp/wcs/store...tegoryId=26659
ComfortablyNumb is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-08-2006, 12:03 AM   #42
drozzy

Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Barrie, ON
Posts: 1,892
drozzy has a reputation beyond reputedrozzy has a reputation beyond reputedrozzy has a reputation beyond reputedrozzy has a reputation beyond reputedrozzy has a reputation beyond reputedrozzy has a reputation beyond reputedrozzy has a reputation beyond reputedrozzy has a reputation beyond reputedrozzy has a reputation beyond reputedrozzy has a reputation beyond reputedrozzy has a reputation beyond repute



Oh, and since this is THE power thread, CNumb, could you please post the formula used to calculate exactly how many amperes are drawn from the battery by a specific amp?

drozzy is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-08-2006, 12:10 AM   #43
drozzy

Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Barrie, ON
Posts: 1,892
drozzy has a reputation beyond reputedrozzy has a reputation beyond reputedrozzy has a reputation beyond reputedrozzy has a reputation beyond reputedrozzy has a reputation beyond reputedrozzy has a reputation beyond reputedrozzy has a reputation beyond reputedrozzy has a reputation beyond reputedrozzy has a reputation beyond reputedrozzy has a reputation beyond reputedrozzy has a reputation beyond repute



Quote:
Originally Posted by ComfortablyNumb
Not through the trunk lid. Just someplace not noticeable.

Here's one that comes as a kit. Including vent tube. But the largest battery it will hold is a group 24.
http://www.jegs.com/webapp/wcs/store...tegoryId=26659
This seems like a nice thing to have.

Can you 'plug' the vent tube in a hole that you'd drill through one of the trunk side panel so it vents where the wheels are located?

One more thing... I see that those kits have nice covers; how do you manage to get BOTH your power and ground wires through that SINGLE wire hole????
drozzy is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-08-2006, 12:11 AM   #44
ComfortablyNumb

Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Detroit area
Posts: 9,417
ComfortablyNumb has a reputation beyond reputeComfortablyNumb has a reputation beyond reputeComfortablyNumb has a reputation beyond reputeComfortablyNumb has a reputation beyond reputeComfortablyNumb has a reputation beyond reputeComfortablyNumb has a reputation beyond reputeComfortablyNumb has a reputation beyond reputeComfortablyNumb has a reputation beyond reputeComfortablyNumb has a reputation beyond reputeComfortablyNumb has a reputation beyond reputeComfortablyNumb has a reputation beyond repute



Quote:
Originally Posted by drozzy
Oh, and since this is THE power thread, CNumb, could you please post the formula used to calculate exactly how many amperes are drawn from the battery by a specific amp?
Hahahaha...I don't know it off hand.
ComfortablyNumb is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-08-2006, 12:13 AM   #45
ComfortablyNumb

Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Detroit area
Posts: 9,417
ComfortablyNumb has a reputation beyond reputeComfortablyNumb has a reputation beyond reputeComfortablyNumb has a reputation beyond reputeComfortablyNumb has a reputation beyond reputeComfortablyNumb has a reputation beyond reputeComfortablyNumb has a reputation beyond reputeComfortablyNumb has a reputation beyond reputeComfortablyNumb has a reputation beyond reputeComfortablyNumb has a reputation beyond reputeComfortablyNumb has a reputation beyond reputeComfortablyNumb has a reputation beyond repute



Quote:
Originally Posted by drozzy
This seems like a nice thing to have.

Can you 'plug' the vent tube in a hole that you'd drill through one of the trunk side panel so it vents where the wheels are located?

One more thing... I see that those kits have nice covers; how do you manage to get BOTH your power and ground wires through that SINGLE wire hole????
Every battery box I've seen has knockouts routing the cables as you like.

You can vent it anywhere you like. Drilling through the trunk floor may not be a good idea though.

For a few bucks. you can pick up some 1/4" vacuum line at an auto parts store. Run the vent line anywhere you like.

Last edited by ComfortablyNumb; 05-08-2006 at 12:17 AM.
ComfortablyNumb is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:39 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright © 2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996 - 2011 by CarAudioForum.com - all rights reserved.